We just got the news this morning that Cabinet has taken out Constitution Day as a public holiday which we were kinda bummed about, but then we found out that Ratu Sukuna day and Girmit Day have been approved which means that we’re officially getting an extra public holiday this year!

With each public holiday, there is a deep meaning behind it so for whatever reason these decisions came about, we’re sure it’s great.

If you were wondering, we used to have 10 Public Holidays compared to the 11 that we’re going to get this year so here’s the list of public holidays that we used to have.

  1. New Years Day
  2. Good Friday
  3. Easter Friday
  4. Easter Monday
  5. Prophet Muhammed’s Birthday
  6. Fiji Day
  7. Elections Day (every 4 years)
  8. Diwali
  9. Xmas
  10. Boxing Day

Ratu Sukuna Day will fall on the last Monday of the month, which means it’s May 29th this year, and Girmit Day will fall on May 15th.